Understanding the Mind of God

This past week I was inspired by a quote from Timothy Keller:

“If we knew what God knows, we would ask exactly for what he gives.”

Is that a little hard to believe? You might be thinking, “Um, no, God I would never ask for XYZ to happen in my life!”

I don’t pretend to know the depth of the struggles you are facing right now. I think deep down, nearly everyone is facing something tough or battling insecurities. Many face hardship on a daily basis that I will never know.

Nevertheless, I know two things that make it easy for me to believe what Tim Keller said: God is good and he is great.

God is a loving father. God is the “God of all comfort”. Every person, every life matters to him. YOU matter to him.

vast expanseUnfortunately in this world that has been overrun by sin and evil, we will face tragedy and heartbreak. We will experience pain. We will be hurt.

Yet God is so great that he can redeem anything! God himself came to redeem this dark world through Jesus. While we may not see it right away, he can bring good from even the worst of circumstances.

And even when it might feel like our world is spinning out of control, God is still IN CONTROL. And that very same God who is in control of the whole universe cares about you and me!

Have you ever heard of the man Job from the Bible? God allowed him to lose everything. He lost his family, his livestock (so, his source of income), his servants, and his health.

He doesn’t curse God, yet he questions him. “Why has this happened to me? What did I do to deserve this? Have I done something wrong that you are punishing me?”

Finally, at the end of the book of Job, God answers him:

earth“Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand. Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know! Who stretched a measuring line across it?”

“Have you comprehended the vast expanses of the earth? Tell me, if you know all of this.”

skies“Can you bind the beautiful Pleiades? Can you loose the cords of Orion? Can you bring forth the constellations in their seasons or lead out the Bear with its cubs? Do you know the laws of the heavens? Can you set up God’s dominion over the earth?”

God asks Job many more questions, and finally concludes with, “Will the one who contends with the Almighty correct him? Let him who accuses God answer him!”

WOW. If I were Job, I’d be shaking in my shoes!

The moral of this story isn’t that we should be afraid to ask God why. What we learn from Job’s story is that no matter what hardship God allows us to go through, he is still God and he is still in control.

He is so much bigger and greater than us. And unfortunately that means that there are just some things in this world that we don’t understand and can’t understand…because we’re not God!

Yet that God who is so great cares about us. He has a good plan for the world, we just have to trust him, even in the midst of the storms in our own little worlds. He asks us to admit that we don’t “have it under control all on our own” and to place our faith and hope in Jesus Christ.

“What you’re saying requires a lot of faith,” you might be saying. If so, I challenge you today to ask God to increase your faith!

lakeBecause, as Tim Keller said, if we only knew what God knew, we’d understand that we can trust him, no matter what. And we’d ask for his plan. every. single. time.

Leave a Reply

