The Accidental Way to End Up in New York and Become a Wilted Branch

Life is a journey. Like a long walk on a winding path. And as with any journey, if you want to end up where you actually want to end up, every step has to have intention. You’ll never make it to Phoenix if you follow directions to New York!

If you ever want to be the person you dream to be, or have the finances you want to have, or live the life you wish to live, you have to intentionally take steps, little by little to get there. You don’t magically become someone new in a day. Every day, every action, every moment now is creating what will be.

For example, do you want to be a more joyful person? Then how are you daily choosing to have joy instead of complaining? Do you want to have more money in your savings account? What non-essentials are you cutting out of your life now to save money for later? The examples could go on forever – every daily choice we make paves the way for the future.

That applies to the Christian life, too. Growing in your faith and living out your beliefs doesn’t just happen on its own: it takes intention to walk with God and keep on the path that he has for you. If we aren’t intentional in seeking God’s ways, we often end up choosing our own ways automatically.

Jesus warned his followers of this very thing: “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener…Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:1-5

Being a Christian requires intentional abiding in Christ. Because let’s be honest, if we don’t daily make Christ the boss of our lives, we naturally act as our own boss. And that often means we’ll make choices that lead us down paths we never meant to travel. Somehow, in all those small steps and daily minutia, we get turned in a different direction, headed for the wrong destination. Somehow, we end up in New York when we meant to go to Phoenix!

So that is why I hope you will walk with me on this journey of life and strive with me to be intentional in our steps. I have dreams of the person I want to be, the strong faith I want to have, and the impact I want to make for God. I want to share my journey with you and hopefully inspire you to live with intention, just as I seek to live intentionally, too. Let’s move forward, in small steps of faith, together!

Light steps

2 thoughts on “The Accidental Way to End Up in New York and Become a Wilted Branch

  1. Pingback: Living Your Vision | in steps of faith

  2. Pingback: “On Your Heart”, Part 1: Why Memorize Scripture? | in steps of faith

Leave a Reply

